Winner of Summer 360° Picture Contest - Taking Night Time Photos With RICOH THETA S

Editor’s Note: Dave Michal won the Summer 360° Picture Contest with his ISS Flyover submission. Congratulations to Dave and thank you to everyone who entered for posting some many great ideas and images!

Who am I?

My name is Dave. I am a tech enthusiast that has always had a keen interest in cool photos. I started with an early Kodak Digital Cameras. Digital made tinkering and being creative possible for amateurs to play around and have instant feedback. Moving through Canon handhelds, Ricoh Rebel, to GoPro cameras and now onto a Ricoh Theta S.

The Ricoh Theta S has opened up a whole new realm of photos for me. I love everything the Theta series can do. The Ricoh Theta is the first camera that I have been able to really capture photos of space with. Below is a photo I took in Honey Harbour, Ontario, Canada on the weekend. The results absolutely floored me that I could capture the Milky Way in the photo. I hope you try your camera on some space photography and I hope some of the info below inspires and motivates you to give it a shot as well.

How to know when the International Space Station (ISS) will flyover

NASA provides “Spot The Station” email notifications of when the space station will be overhead. Signing up for email notifications at https://spotthestation.nasa.gov/ will provide you with about 12 hours notice of when to look up. As an iOS user, I also have the “ISS Finder” app on my phone. This app allows the user to set alarms of when the space station will be overhead and customize settings for optimal viewings and passes.