Theta signal hdmi stream to Livestream Producer box?

Hi there,

I’m shopping for a 360 camera and I’ve heard great things about Ricoh. However I’m using the camera for a focus group environment, and I need to stream images longer distances (and securely) so I’m thinking of investing in the livestream producer. That box seems to take an HDMI signal – so I’m wondering if I could simply do HDMI out to this box, and if so, does it output a stitched image or dual fish eye?

Also, since I’m new to this, if there are any steps I’m missing or easier ways to live stream, I’d love to hear them.

Thanks.

1 Like

The THETA V does not have HDMI output for live streaming. You would need some type of USB to HDMI converter. I do not have a good recommendation.

The THETA S does have HDMI output, but it is lower resolution.

The RICOH R Dev Kit does output HDMI. See the article below. However, it is lower resolution than the THETA V. Suggest you send a note to Ricoh and ask if they plan on updating the RICOH R Dev kit to the higher resolution.

Do you need the 4K live streaming for the focus group? Or is the 2K sufficient? Also note that there’s some hefty bandwidth requirements for 4K live streaming. Are you streaming to something like YouTube or Facebook?

1 Like

Thanks for the response. So no, I would just need really 1080, not high bitrate, only for the live stream, but higher res for the recording. Given that, what do you think my easiest bath forward would be?

As of now, in my mind I’d use Livestream’s cloud and Apple TV app, and use an Apple TV on the other side to receive/decode.

Basically I just need a way to get it out of the camera and to a TV, a few rooms away.

1 Like

I took a look at the information here:

https://help.livestream.com/hc/en-us/articles/212058158-Livestream-Producer-Supported-Capture-Devices

It seems that your firm has budget for some specialized equipment. If you take this route, seems like the RICOH R Dev Kit might be easier for your team.